1932 Buick Model 97 Touring Sedan *SOLD*

Matt Harwood

*SOLD*

I took this Buick in on trade about two months ago and I like it so much that I've been debating for those two months whether to keep it for myself. It has been my daily driver (sunny days only) and I have this confession to make: it does EVERYTHING better than my 1929 Cadillac. It's faster, more powerful, easier to steer with better brakes and doesn't ride like a 3/4 ton pickup, but rather a true luxury car. I have ultimately decided to sell it simply because there's no point to me owning two 1930-ish GM 4-door sedans, and I'm keeping the Cadillac simply for sentimental reasons--my family and I already have many, many wonderful memories in it and I do love it.

OK, with that said, this big, impressive Buick is a Full Classic that's expressly set up for touring. According to a homemade sign that came with it, it was discovered in 1980 powering a sawmill in Wisconsin and restored at that time. The car probably wasn't a wreck when they found it and the restoration is remarkably high quality given that it's now 33 years old and still looking good enough to earn a second in class at a recent show. I don't know how many miles it has on it since then, but the odometer says about 12,000 which is probably about correct, although it also has high-speed gears, so the miles aren't adding up as quickly as they should (it's about 15% slow if my GPS is to be believed). Other upgrades for touring include turn signals and a downdraft carburetor from a 1940 Buick (looks like a Carter to me), however it's important to note that all the original carburetor components, including air cleaner, are included if you want to go back to purely stock form.