Authenticating a 1928 Franklin

Guest sversaw1

Guest sversaw1

My name is Scott Versaw and I am a student in the Auto Restoration program at McPherson College in McPherson KS. McPherson College was the first (and still only?) 4-year college to offer a degree in Auto Restoration.

I am part of a team that has been assigned the task of "authenticating" a 1928 Franklin owned by the college. In other words, we need to research whether the car is made up of parts that match and were correct for 1928.

I've done some research through this AACA site and the Franklin club, but I'd like some help making a list of any characteristics that were common and/or unique to 1928 Series 12 cars. Can anyone help with this list?

In other words, if you look at an alleged 1928 Series 12 car, what would you look to confirm that it is in fact a 1928 Series 12?

Thanks for any help you can provide. I'll be at McPherson College for the next 2 years. If you are in the area of McPherson KS feel free to contact me and I'll be glad to give you a tour.

"you look at an alleged 1928 Series 12 car, what would you look to confirm that it is in fact a 1928 Series 12?"

Look at the builder's plate ont he engine side of the firewall, read the Serial Number, go to www.Franklin car.org, click on TECH, click on "Franklin Serial and motor numbers" and scroll down to 1928. Does your number fall within one of the number blocks? now you know.

Gordon Howard

Hi Scott -

I can add a bit to Gordon's info:

The Series 12 shares much of the deCausse stying of the Series 11. The easiest identifier for these two models is the grill shell with the verticle plated bars and the LARGE plated circle surrounding the hand crank hole cover (note that the 1929 Series 13 models had styling that was updated by Ray Dietrich after deCausse's death. They still have the verticle grill bars, but the large circle was deleted - a key identifier). So, any Franklin with the large circle is a Series 11 or 12.