'64 Riv wheels?

Moose2

I'm new at this; just bought a '64 Riviera and I need wheels. I'm assuming stock wheels are 15" and I'm also assuming the wheels from any full-size Buick will fit my Riv. I'll be snooping the local boneyards and I need to know if my assumptions are correct?? I'd also like to know if ANY full-size GM car will provide the identical wheels, or do I need to stick with just Buick?? Thanks for helping!

Moose,

Sorry, it's not quite that easy. The diameter of the center hub on 63 and 64 Rivieras is larger than most other cars. You need a wheel with a center hole that's at least a little over 3" in diameter. I think it's 3.08" but I'm at school and don't have any reference material with me. PLUS the front brake drums are riveted to the hubs. The wheels you need have a "bubble" between the holes for the lugs so the rivet head has a place to sit. The wheels are usully 15" with a 5 on 5" bolt circle. The normal width is 5.5". If the car was originally ordered with oversize tires (7.60 x 15 instead of the standard 7.10 x 15) the wheels were 6" wide. There are other threads on here that go into what it takes to fit aftermarket wheels (17" etc.) All large Buicks from those years (63 /64) will work. There are older Buikc wheels that will work as well, but they'll be a different configuration. The wheels you're looking for will have four small slots outside the bolt circle. They were used for bolting on the cast aluminum wheel covers. When I get home, I'll post pictures later tonight of different wheels so you can tell the difference.

Ed

Here are pictures of three different 15" Buick wheels that have a 5" on 5 bolt pattern.

This one is the correct one for your '64 Riviera. Notice how large the center hole is and where you measure the width of the wheel - inside the mounting flange, not across the entire width of the wheel.

post-50017-143141884303_thumb.jpg