1985 Riviera dash mounting

Guest smittykid

Guest smittykid

Newbie here. I just purchased a 1985 Riviera. The dashboard is loose on the passenger side of the car. The guy I bought the car from said the former owner had the heat/ac controls worked on & the mechanic didn't install a mounting bolt. Is there a diagram somewhere out there that shows a schematic of the dash mounting procedure. It doesn't rattle too bad, but it's a bear closing the glove box door. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Smitty

Smitty,

Is the entire dash board loose or just the panels on the front? Difficulty closing the glove box door is common on these cars and is probably not related to the loose dash. There's a remedy for the glove box door. After you reply about my first question, we can discuss a fix for the glove box.

Ed

Smitty

What state you in? I have pictures of a dash removal i have taken out a couple dashes. could be the cause of the glove box but like Ed said there is a known issue with them. There is three bolts that hold the dash in place. send me a PM

Smitty,

Is the entire dash board loose or just the panels on the front? Difficulty closing the glove box door is common on these cars and is probably not related to the loose dash. There's a remedy for the glove box door. After you reply about my first question, we can discuss a fix for the glove box.

Ed

Guest smittykid

Just the right side of the dash is loose. The dash panels themseves are ok. The latch on the glovebox door is ok(for now) - it just makes it hard to close because the dash is so loose on that side. I would like to know your cure for the latch on the glove box. Thanks a million, Smitty

Smitty,