1937 Coupe - New Headliner

AACA Library

I am scrambling to finish up my winter projects before my baby arrives in the world (due date May 14th).

I bought a headliner from Lebaron Bonney and this past weekend I installed it. The installation went smoothly enough but the headliner is not as tight as the original was. Are there any tricks to get all the last wrinkles out? I thought about spraying it lightly with distilled water then hitting it with a heat gun or hairdryer in hopes that the cotton would shrink.

Tips or suggestions?

-Chris

I have done exactly one headliner ('38 Special 2-door), so I am not an expert. But, if I do it again, I know what to do differently.

On mine, I had to poke holes in the fabric loops to get the hooks through. I should have cut slots about 3/4" long instead of the holes. This way, when I pulled on the edges just prior to nailing it in place, I would have had more freedom to pull all the way across. I think the holes that I made restricted my ability to pull as much as I could / should have. Didn't realize this at the time.

My 2 cents.

Jeff

Guest Grant Magrath

Here's one my father made and I installed for my old 39 Chev......

543550_3576041677960_1180632791_33575209_1926074754_n.jpg

552829_3576043918016_1180632791_33575216_686512527_n.jpg

And here's the LeBarron Bonney one on the 39 coupe. A few repairs had to be made first before installation.

22472_1356093540644_1180632791_31110001_4284943_n.jpg

The trick is to take your time, start from the center, and work your way out, and if you have to go back and re-tack, then that's what you do! It took ages to get the Chev right. I used a water bottle to mist hot water on the headliner and a hair dryer to get it a bit tighter, but all the wrinkles had to be delt with first.

Cheers

Grant

Guest outlaw car man

The trick is to hire Grant ! He's only 25 hours away, travel time gets expensive tho.

Boy those look great.

Actually at 1963 prices, wouldn't be to bad-

Sandy