correct dash ?

Guest junkyardcar

Guest junkyardcar

I have two 1917 DB touring cars. One has a dash with no glove compartment, the other has a glove compartment. Which is correct? Frame #'s 195730 and 134646. I'm sure this is an easy question for you guys.

Thanks!!

Guest Darracq

Don't know for sure, I'm new to Dodges, but....#134646 is Feb/ March 17, about 2000 cars before mine.

I have no reason to think that my car is not as original. It has a glovebox. With a door and an Eagle Lock Co. lock.

Hope this helps, Dave

Edited by Darracq (see edit history)

Guest junkyardcar

I have the same lock. How did you unlock it? I had to take the box apart to in in it. What does the key look like if your lucky enough to have one.

Thanks for the responce.

hector

I believe the glove box was eliminated during the 1917 mfg year My 17 with number in the 176XXX range had NO box My 1916 HAD a glove box. Exactly when the glove box was eliminated you can find out as some of the old DB club news covered model change years by serial numbers. I have a key for my box. NOT sure if all were keyed alike NO need to take it apart!. I can scan it and post it if you like

bob

Guest Darracq

Here's a photo of my 17 Dodge keys,

The glove box key is 1 1/2" end to end and 3/4" across. The bit that goes into the lock is 7/8" by 1/4"

Does anyone sell spares of these? Is this ignition key a Clum Key?

Dave

post-67327-143138320956_thumb.jpg

Guest doberman

my 17 has the box and it is origanal.145xxx but I have no key and that is the first one that I have seen.My lock is #11 if anyone has a spare I would love to buy it.

A clum key will say just that and all others are copies.

thanks alan

Guest John1918

The 1918 Master Parts catalog gives the car number where the glovebox was dropped as 159101, manufactured about June 3rd 1917. This was also about the same time the Johns Manville 115H black faced speedo was introduced. John

Guest Jack 27