1946 Fleetmaster question

Guest Firstcityfireman

Guest Firstcityfireman

Hey folks, I have a 46 Fleetmaster 2 door and I am looking for some background info on the car. More specifically, what is the definition of a coupe versus a sedan with these 40s Chevys? I have heard a variety of opinions from guys on which is which and I am just trying to confirm or deny!

Also, is there a good website or other resource where a guy can really find some great background information and history on this and other 40s? Thanks alot in advance!

I often see sedans mis-identified as coupes on Ebay and Craigslist. The hot rodders love coupes, so presumably they think if they call it a coupe it will bring a better price.

The 2-door sedan or "coach" body is shaped much like the 4-door with a longer roofline and more rear seat room than the coupe. It was a family car. The coupe has a shorter roof and longer trunk, more of an "occasional" rear seat sort of like today's 2+2. I believe the coupe had swing out rear windows (not sure), the sedan had roll-down rear windows. Some coupes (business coupes) had the rear seat deleted to make room for sales samples, etc. I did a search on the AACA gallery and didn't come up with a photo of the sedan, but this is a good photo of a 1941 coupe:

1941 Chevrolet Coupe - Photo taken at Mt. Morris VFD,Car Show on 9-10-2006. Mt. Morris, PA AACA PHOTO GALLERY

For a 2-door sedan photo we'll have to go to EBay, as much as I hate to:

Chevrolet: eBay Motors (item 250689185198 end time Sep-04-10 18:12:01 PDT)

The bodies are the same from 1941 through 1948.

In my opinion the best source for info on Chevies is the Vintage Chevrolet Club of America:

VCCA Chat - Forums powered by UBB.threads™

Good luck with your car. I think 1946 is a good year for Chevys.

Don

Edited by DLynskey (see edit history)

Guest Oldengineer