Jim Roll past way

boblichty

<table class="MsoNormalTable" style="width: 503px; height: 1635px;" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><tr><td style="padding: 3pt;" colspan="2"> For those who knew him one of the best pre-war car upholsters in the US past away here is part of his obit from the local paper. :mad:

James E. Roll, 72, of New Philadelphia, died Saturday, February 06, 2010 in Union Hospital at Dover.

A son of the late John and Geneva (McFadden) Roll, Jim was born October 18, 1937 in Old Town Valley.

Jim graduated from New Philadelphia High School in 1955. That same year he married his childhood sweetheart, the former Laurel Watson.

In his early teens, Jim developed an interest in automobiles by building his own cars and helping friends with repairs. In 1957, Jim used his self taught skills to start his own upholstery business which was called Tailored Trim Service. The business would grow quickly over the next few years and it became a full time business as he relocated it to the current location on East High Avenue in 1961.

Jim would become well known for his expertise in the automotive industry and many of his creations were recognized in many national and international trade journals. Jim was a highly sought after upholsterer by many diverse individuals from across the nation and one of his masterpieces won "Best of Show" at Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance. In 2007, a permanent award, The J.E. Roll Award for Best Interior, was established at the annual Glenmoor Gathering of Significant Automobiles at Canton.

He was a member of Community of Christ Church at New Philadelphia, a life member of the New Philadelphia Elks Lodge 510 and a member of the Lincoln Continental Owners Club. In 2008, Jim was honored with the Quaker Foundation's Lifetime Achievement Award.