A newbie here

Guest pingi3

Hi guys,

For some reason last year, I decided to pick up a old car to restore. I was at a mechanics house and he had a 47 plymouth special deluxe. All original but in bad shape. I picked it up and sent it over to a shop that specializes in full restorations. It was suppose to be completed by June of this year but now he says maybe early November. I can not wait to see this thing in all its glory. I am keeping everything original except the 12 volt conversion and a hidden A/C. Maybe a hidden radio cause I dont think they can save the factory radio. And of course the color will change a little. It will be black but a much richer black and also a red leather interior. My favorite feature of the car is the suicide doors. I look forward to taking my daughter to school in it. I am a little worries cause I am keeping the original motor and breaks to sty true but was told it is not the safest in todays highway speeds. We cruise around here at least 70 to 75 mph. The builder said it can probably cruise around safely between 60 and 65. Any experienced input would be appreciated.

And I am new at classics and wanted to get insight into what these cars are at these days. Minus the economic crisis in now, what were these cars fetching? I do not plan on selling this beauty but was curious to see if it is worth what I have into her so far which is $23,500.00. I see a lot for sale but not fully restored or hot rodded. Not sure but I feel these things were meant to be left to cruise quietly.

Thanks guys for your inputs.

You will probably want to visit the forum that is specifically for your car at P15-D24 Homepage