1929 DA6 manifold rust / oil

Hi,

I have a 1929 Dodge DA6 that I rebuilt 30 years ago. At the time I had help from an experienced mechanic in rebuilding the engine. I had bought / made all new gaskets. The pistons were fine at the time and I got new rings for them. Rebuilt everything else. The car ran great at the time. The car has been sitting for 23 years w/ not much mileage since the first restoration and I am rerestoring it now. The crankshaft turns fine, but I have not fired the engine up until I get more components restored. I saw the spark plugs seemed fouled w/ carbon which seems like a ring issue. I have taken off the manifold and a bunch of rusty oily flakes have fallen out. When I run my finger inside the openings in the block again rusty oily flakes, but not as much as inside the manifold. I plan to take of the head and drop the oil pan and clean everything up. I am not a great mechanic, but love old cars. Can anyone tell me what this problem is and how I can alleviate it? I wonder if the engine is even okay. Any advice / information is appreciated.

Hi,

No, I did not turn it over with a battery. I took out the spark plugs and took off the belt and used the crank. She turns easily. I'll try a compression test. I do want to drop the oil pan and clean all old oil residue out before turning over w/ a battery....not sure of the wiring either.

Anyway, I didn't remember rust in the manifold like this when I took it apart the first time......these are relatively large flakes of rust......I've gotten it all out and the manifold seems fine; no holes, but just want to figure out the problem. Thanks for the advice. If you have any other ideas please let me know. Thanks.