Octane Ratings

JohnMyer

I recently purchased a 1963 Buick Skylark convertible. In reading the Owners Guide, it states that the Skylark requires fuel having an octane rating of at least "93 Research Method" or "84 Motor Method". How are these ratings determined and how do they relate to the typical octane ratings of 87, 89 or 93 that is typically shown on the various grades of fuel pumps?<P>I will use premium fuel in the Skylark, but I want to understand these octane ratings described in the Owners Guide.

John-I'm not an engineer and I am relying on memory. But here goes-The difference between research and motor is similar to the difference between real and expected. Research is a math determined figure and motor is experimentally derived. BTW the 93 figure your book is requiring is going to be about the same as the current 93. I hope my memory is serving me well on this issue; if not maybe someone will correct me.