how to find original color code on 56 olds 88 4 door sedan

olds88

I am new to this so please forgive me for asking questions that everyone else probably already knows. I just bought this car and it needs body work and paint. it has a white top and lower body in what looks like light blue but faded. the door jambs show almost an aqua green and inside the trunk even darker aqua. I want to put it back to original colors. does anyone know where I can find the color codes on the car and then where do I look to see what the original colors were? Would body shops be able to get the right color with this info? I have people tell me to just change the color to something like fireball red or whatever but isn't there more value in keeping it original?

No forgiveness is needed Olds88, you'll never know unless you ask and there's never anything wrong with asking.

On the cowl near the left hand hood hinge will be a plate riveted on. On that plate will be information to your car. There will be a line that should say PAINT No. with a number after it. On yours it will probably have two sets of two digit numbers. The first set will be for the the lower body color. The next set of numbers will be for the upper body color. You can then go to the autocolorlibrary.com or Dupont and look at these colors. 1955 had 5 blues and three greens as part of their paint colors. The white should be Polar White.

The color of a car is all up to the individual. My peference is to keep it the original color on a car like yours. The other thing you have to remember is that if you change the color on the car you will have to get in all the little places that need paint like the door jambs, under the deck lid and sometimes it's tough to do unless you are doing a frame off restoration.

In any case, the best of luck with the project and never stop asking questions.

Ron