1951 Stude Fender Welting - painted or not?

I am about to detail and touch up my 1951 Studebaker Land Cruiser, and have new fender welting for the rear fenders. I have seen this both painted and non-painted (black) on restored cars. Does anyone know what the correct version is? I have not been able to find any factory period photos that help.

Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I am about to detail and touch up my 1951 Studebaker Land Cruiser, and have new fender welting for the rear fenders. I have seen this both painted and non-painted (black) on restored cars. Does anyone know what the correct version is? I have not been able to find any factory period photos that help.

Thanks! </div></div>

While I am no Studebaker expert, not by a long shot, I would have to believe that those body shells were painted before the rear fenders were assembled on the cars (in fact, I believe I have seen pics from the factory floor showing the bodies painted, but without rear fenders attached.

This leads me to believe that the welting would not have been painted prior to the bolting of the fenders to the body--vinyl doesn't hold lacquer all that well if it is flexed for an installation like that--in fact, lacquers don't really stick tightly to soft vinyls.

I do remember Dad's '49 Plymouth having black vinyl welting around the rear fenders, and have seen too many pics of 49-52 Chevies with obvious black vinyl welting, so I really do believe that standard industry practice was to install the rear fenders after they were painted, with fresh, black vinyl welting.

That said, I suspect that when one sees any car of this era with painted welting, that's a strong indication that the car was repainted without pulling off the rear fenders.

Art