64 Riviera power seat parts?

Moose2

I have questions about my power seat mechanism for the driver's bucket on my '64 Riviera. The gear box driven by the transmission cable to move the seat backwards/forwards needs to be rebuilt or replaced and I have no clue where to go. I'm very sure its the gear box because I've disassembled the seat from the lower bracket/drive assembly, and I've taken the lower bracket assembly (complete) out of the car. I've disconnected the cable that drives the gearbox and I can move the seat mount smoothly back to the limit of the assembly by hand, but it will not move forward without immediately binding. I have carefully checked all parts of the physical track sliders to see if they are binding; they aren't. I could sure use advise because I'm an old barnyard mechanic and I miss things. But assuming I need the gearbox for the front/back track replaced, where do I look? Ebay has nothing I can find. Unless somebody tells me otherwise, I would guess that if the front/back gearbox is shot, the up/down gearbox can't be far behind and I'd be smart to do them both???

Also, I've been reading that it is useful to clean and re-lube the transmission assembly and I intend to do that. I have no idea what to lube it with and would use generic moly grease unless there is a better product?? Also, what general comments or cautions do I need to know before I tear into the transmission unit?

All help and comments gratefully accepted!!!!:cool:

Do you hear anything or feel anything when you engange the button? I had a similar question 2 weeks ago. My seat does not move but I can hear it. I had a few informative replies but it's not warm enough here in PA to work on it. Below is a copy and paste:

I have a 64 Buick Riviera 465. The driver's seat has an electric motor that runs (makes a noise) but does not move the seat in any direction. Any ideas on what to do?

Thanks,

Kevin<!-- google_ad_section_end --><!-- google_ad_section_end -->

user-offline.png