22 dodge

22dodger

Hi everybody, I'm new to the old car game. When my dad passed away 6 years ago I became the caretaker of his 22 DB roadster. I naver drove the car so my first outing in the car was at his memeorial. Thanks to all the old car clubs in my neck of the woods I learned enough so I could drive it a short distance to town and back. Unfortunately I am not very knowledgeable about cars this old. My strength is taking apart and fixing late '60s to early '80s stuff.I'm not a mechanic but I'm not afraid to take stuff apart. Recently I got the dodge running again after it was put in a shed for 6 years. Had to clean out the vacuum tank and clean up the wires on the ignition switch as they were kinda tarnished. Emery cloth fixed it except the hi low beam resistor no longer flows current so I put a jump wire between the post and now have only hi beams. Makes really no difference as I don't dare drive at night with all the ignorant drivers on the road. Here is the problem, the dodge runs too hot. The themoter on the rad shows extreme hot all the time after warm up, even when driving on level road under no load so the wind is going thru the rad. The fan is working and the water pump is circulating water well. I plan on flushing the cooling system but should I use a 50 50 mix of water and antifreeeze?

A member of a local club with a '19 dodge has a "bible" of sorts with lots of advise on working on old cars. The advise he gave me had a bunch of suggestions but I'm mostly concerned with ignition timing and/or carb adjustment. The car starts really easily and runs well.

Does the spark lever have to be all the way up for no advance?

Any body able to explain to me how to check the timing and maybe what to look for at the carb for adjusting it?

Thanks for any help.

Guest simplyconnected