1937 OLDS 230ci rear main bearing seal replacement

Alan M

I have a 1937 GMC 1 1/2 ton truck that has a 230ci Oldsmobile flathead engine. The rear main bearing seal must be replaced. I am hoping I can replace it without removing the engine and crank shaft as explained in the thread in this formum which has been very encouraging.

Would the procedure be the same as for the engine in the thread? Does anyone know if there is a modern seal that can be used as the replacement, and if so, where it can be obtained? Any advice or assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

I have no experience with that engine, however, I see no reason why the seal can't be changed in the car. I'm sure you won't find a modern seal to fit your engine. It isn't popular enough for a company to make a neoprene seal for it. It's all based on supply and demand, and there is no demand for your engine.

Back in the day, most engines had the rope seal. There is an inexpensive tool called a "Sneaky Pete", that you should be able to obtain from any auto parts store. it is designed for replacing the rope rear main seal in the vehicle.

I described this tool in an earlier post, but I'll give it a go again. It consists of a small diameter rod, with course threads on one end, and a quarter sized loop on the other end. It maybe eight inches long. The threads are course, like a drywall screw. You drop the main cap, and screw the threaded end into the rope seal, between the crank and the block. Screw it in as far as you can. Then, as you slowly turn the crankshaft, you pull the rod in the same direction, and the seal should come out. Stick a screwdriver or something through the loop on the end as you pull and turn the crankshaft, preferably with a flywheel turner. Pull and turn slowly, and the seal should come right out.