Classic Radio Service

I am in the process of restoring a 46 Ford Convertible. I am a novice, <BR>this is the first antique car I have ever owned. As part of this <BR>process, I have had to find parts and vendors. And, I have been <BR>overwhelmed by the kindness of people I have met. I have always been <BR>prepared to pay full price or more. Yet, I have received parts for <BR>free ( actually, the price was a little more..."do the same for <BR>someone else") and talked to knowledgeable folks who were willing to <BR>take their time to help me. What a great hobby!<P>But, I have one exception...Classic Radio Service. I needed to restore <BR>my radio. I did a search through Hemmings. I found Classic Radio <BR>Services's ad and checked their web site, along with many others. They <BR>were the most expensive, by almost double, but their ad copy was well <BR>written and I decided to use them. I pulled the radio, sent it to them <BR>and then received a call telling me all of the "extra charges" (all <BR>up, they were going to cost $400+ more). So, I decided to have them <BR>ship the radio back and use someone else. They were angry when I told <BR>them, charged me $60, without my authorization, to ship the radio back <BR>(maybe that included their charge for looking at the radio).<P>When the radio arrived from Classic Car Radio, there was a note.It <BR>follows. Make your own decision about these people... <P><BR>"I should have known by your tone and the fact that you inquired about <BR>a 12 volts conversion and the possibility of a FM conversion that you <BR>were a waste of time. There are multitudes of mediocre radio shops <BR>that are there for the purpose of accommodating nitwits and cheap <BR>skates like you. Unfortunately, for me, you got through my better <BR>judgement and I was willing to give you the benefit of the doubt by <BR>being helpful and by assuming that you would know the difference <BR>between quality and garbage. I made no illusions in informing you of <BR>