early 40's dodge pickups

Guest tonkaman

Guest tonkaman

ok guys im new to the fourm but not to the world of these trucks. i am lookig at buing these two trucks this summer after i graduate. i belive the yellow one is a 1/2 ton but im not sure on the other one, it looks to be a 1 or 3/4 ton not sure tho. the vin tag says its GVW is 6000lbs. if you guys could tell me everything you can about the to of them just from the pics i have that would be awesome. the headlights on the black one are different from any i have ever seen on a dodge truck from this era whats up with these? i know that niether truck has the correct engine in it as i have ran both serial numbers and both are from cars, not trucks. the black one has the radiator spaced back towards the cab with wood spacers and a homemade fan shroud.

My Dodges pictures by tonkadude - Photobucket

Guest tonkaman
looks like you have a '39 [1 year grille ] and what looks like a '40 [1 yr grille ]

which is which? the yellow one is the 40 correct?

Guest Richie09

Hi, here are some of the records I have on the '39 and '40:

1939 TC 1/2 ton 116" wheel base

TD15 3/4 ton 120"

TD20 1 ton 120"

TD21 1 ton 133"

1940 VC 1/2 ton 116" wheel base

VD 15 3/4 ton 120"

VD20 1 ton 120"

VD21 1 ton 133"

The only question I have in my mind is about the yellow ones remaining headlamp: I thought they went to sealed beam but that looks like it may be a bulb in reflector, can't really see that well but the little lamp that would be on top of the headlight is not there. Must be a '40 with that grille and the headlamp not on the crown of the fender though. Try wiping the passenger side door jamb tags with oil so you can make out the model number, those tags are painted and stamped so don't rub too hard. Richie

P.S. I do have the serial number sequences for Detroit and L.A. if you can read them off those tags.

Guest tonkaman