Any info on Marvel Carbs?

Guest 97welter

Guest outlaw car man

I have a Marvel master parts book with settings. Book shows you should have the T model for 26,27,28.

Shows different settings for Master & standard, cast or brass bowl.

I'm not a 26 Buick guy, but can give the settings if you send the above info.

Hopefully a 26 Buick type will chime in. I'm just using the book.

Sandy

Guest 97welter

I have a 26 Buick Standard, believe it is a brass bowl. I would greatly appreciate any info you have on it. I opened it up and cleaned it out and replaced all the gaskets. Im not sure what adjustments to check......

Tim,

I am e-mailing you a scan of the page in the 1926 Buick shop manual that covers adjusting the carburetor. In short, there are only two adjustments to be made: the fuel mixture wheel at the bottom of the carburetor and the air valve screw. The fuel mixture wheel should be ONE turn out to where the slot in the wheel aligns with the post beside it. The air valve screw should be at the point the top of the tab is even with the top of the screw. These are initial adjustments and the manual goes on to tell how to fine turn them.

Note in my response in your other thread I said the the fuel wheel should be turned out two turns. This was WRONG and what I get for relying on my not so good memory. It should be turned ONE turn.

My shop covers both standard and master models and indicates the same adjustments for both series.

Guest outlaw car man

OK 97 Welter-

I've only worked on the 1933 Marvels, but here is what the Marvel books says about your Carb:

1926-27-28 Models ( Standard & Master Sixes) use the Marvel T carburetor

Standard Carb body # 10-103. Carb Assembly 10-608, Carb & Riser 10-610

Height of high speed jet 2 37/64. Height of low speed nozzle 1 9/32. high speed jet from wall .017. Float height 9/16.