1938 Series 40 rocker arm assembly .. disassembly

-Rich

I'm in the process of disassembling the rocker arm assembly on my 38-41, to check for wear, see if I need to replace any parts, etc. But I've run into a couple things I'm not sure about..

First, I was able to remove the first 3 Support Brackets quite easily - they just slid right off, as did the rocker arms are springs. But the 4th bracket seems to be stuck pretty tight. Any suggestions for how to remove it (and any others that might be stuck too)? I don't want to damage anything, or risk scoring the Shaft by twisting it back and forth to see if I can eventually "walk" the bracket off the shaft.

Second, the Shaft itself seems to have wear patterns, where it's highly polished in some areas, and rougher in others (like where the springs were). Once I remove everything and get down to just the bare shaft, what should I do? Just clean it up with wire wool and kerosene, or what? I'm still learning my away around these engines, so figured I'd ask before I make a terrible mistake. :-)

post-56588-143138162761_thumb.jpg

post-56588-143138162768_thumb.jpg

post-56588-143138162775_thumb.jpg

Guest ZondaC12