How to determine fair price on classic car?

I am a complete novice when it comes to older cars. However, I'm kinda smitten with a really nice '67 Skylark convertible I saw in Alabama. 89K orig. miles. Brown vinyl or leather interior in pretty good shape; exterior (light yellow) appears to be flawless. Top in great condition. At used car lot (probably NOT best place to find good deal on this car, but...) asking $9500. Like I said, I'm a novice, but that price seems high. Any advice out there on how to determine a fair market value for such an automobile? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Clay - Stone Mtn, GA

Clay,<P>I live in Marietta and bought a 67 Skylark Convertible in September. Its metallic blue with blue interior and light blue convertible top. Car was in very solid shape. Everything works, Interior is flawless except for the carpet. Needed tuning up, new radiator and some detailing. It has 70,000 one owner miles and I paid $2700 for it. Given this, $9500 seems way too high unless its a GS. If so, then its probably worth the money if its matching numbers and in good shape.<P>Alan

Alan - Thanks for the info. As a novice, I have to ask what's probably a dumb question... what do you mean by matching numbers? Thx, Clay M.<P> <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Alan Faircloth:<BR><B>Clay,<P>I live in Marietta and bought a 67 Skylark Convertible in September. Its metallic blue with blue interior and light blue convertible top. Car was in very solid shape. Everything works, Interior is flawless except for the carpet. Needed tuning up, new radiator and some detailing. It has 70,000 one owner miles and I paid $2700 for it. Given this, $9500 seems way too high unless its a GS. If so, then its probably worth the money if its matching numbers and in good shape.<P>Alan</B><HR></BLOCKQUOTE><P>

Guest John Chapman