!!!!!!!!Update of 1928 Franklin 12B 7 Passenger Airman Sedan at McPherson College!!!!!!!!

Guest dtalbott13

Guest dtalbott13

Hey fellow Franklin Members, my name is Drew Talbott. I am a recent graduate of McPherson College's 4 year Bachelors degree program. I had the great enjoyment and pride of working on our 1928 Franklin 12B 7 Passenger Airman Sedan for my senior project. So far last year, I ended up sorting through the parts and trying to organize them in a better fashion so that future students could find parts easier. I wrote up a log of every part I could find that was part of the car which for some reason isn't with the car currently.... anyways, I also managed to figure out what our running boards are a little bent and requires a piece of angle iron to hold them straight. I also managed to get all of the doors and the rear fenders in primer.

My main projects and goals were to fabricate the drivers side wheel well for the spare tire, and fabricate the driver side lower hood as there was neglect and misdirection from previous students that tried to fix the problems through other means and just made things worse. Anyway, I started working on the wheel well and started forming it. About halfway through the year, things started going down hill and I became very stressed. The more I came into the shop, the less I got finished. So long story short, I managed to get my first goal of organizing the parts on the parts rack finished, however I came up short with fabricating the wheel well and hood piece.

I wish I could have finished those pieces as I wanted to see the body, doors, hood, and fenders all in paint as I wanted to achieve something great in college. Things happen and plans change, I just wish I could have gotten farther. Anyways, I figure I would let the club know of the current progress of the project so you could get an idea.