Sign in to follow this  
akrussell

Frame Paint

I'm trying to decide on what paint to use for the frame on my '33 Franklin Olympic. I previously sandblasted, epoxy primed, and painted with PPG acrylic urethane black but I've noticed two things about this paint that I'm not sure I like. The first is that it tends to have a "plastic" look to it and not like the original paint. The other is that it seems to chip easily when installing nuts and bolts for example. I'm getting ready to paint other chassis pieces and before I proceed, I'd like to get some advice or experience from others.

Thanks in advance,

Dan

post-31228-143137914564_thumb.jpg

Dear Dan,Chassis black does not have that urethane shine.IMHO any paint will wrinkle when you tighten fasteners before it dries.I know i can't wait to get those freshly painted parts bolted on that fresh chassis.SOMEONE will chime in with POR,i have no experience with that material.diz

Powder coat it. Have it done in semi-gloss to eliminate the plastic shine look. It's inexpensive and bullet proof. Most powder coaters do the whole operation, sandblast it and then coat it.

We've used POR 15 and still had decent results. The only thing wrong with it is that it will fade very quickly if exposed to the sun and ultraviolet rays. When my dad ran the Highway Dept. he used that stuff and painted the entire inside of a salt box on the salt trucks. The paint held up a couple of years and he was pouring salt into those boxes. Our Plymouth truck was done with POR-15 in 2000 and has still held up very well. The truck isn't driven a lot, but aside from some minor touch-up, so far, so good.

But we're still contemplating going with Powder Coat on our future projects for reasons of durability.