1938 ignition lock?

Guest mowog

Of all the ...!!! Okay, my year-plus engine rebuild is done, everything back together, it RUNS! Yay! I swear, the timing even came out spot-on, far as I can tell. Took the car down off the jackstands, ready to back her out of the garage, go for a little shakedown spin ... the key won't turn in the ignition switch! It HAD been catching a bit, and I WAS a little worried, but NOW it won't turn at all! This, of course, means I can't unlock the steering (or I'd just drive her around hot-wired). The key comes out and goes in with no problem. Will "jiggle" a tiny bit, but hits a hard stop as soon as I try to turn it. Two different keys, same thing. No amount of WD40, yanking the wheel one way and the other, tapping with a hammer, does any good. Has anybody had this happen? I wasn't prepared for this; don't know what to do. I'm no rocket scientist, but I swear I know more about the inside of a rocket engine than the inside of a lock. Thanks for any suggestions.

Quit using the WD-40 as it will dry and gum you up worse. Use Kroil or a graphite lubricant. You might be able to remove the electrical contacts from the backside and also add penetrant from there. I think there is a tiny hole up from the bottom between the lock cyl and the steering column that the factory drove a lock pin into to retain the lock but I may be wrong about this.

Remember perserverance and profanity will win out.

bill

Thanks, Bill. Well, I've thrown plenty of profanity at it; I guess I could TRY perseverance!