Help! 1935 car advice needed for research!

Jenni

Hi,

I am an author and am writing a book that takes place in 1935. I have a character that is going to drive from NJ to Key West, FL in a Ford car. My questions are:

1) What would the cheapest Ford car have been?

2) How long would it have taken? What kind of mileage did cars get back then?

3) Were there roadside amenities along Route 1? Motels? Restaurants?

4) Did cars break down frequently on trips like this?

Thanks SO much!

Jenni

Jenni,

You would probably want to post this on the general AACA or a Ford site to get specific information. Would you be planning on the character driving a brand new car or one several years, or perhaps older. The situation would be different depending on the persons personal finances. A new Frod in 1935 was perhaps just about $1,000 at that time. Naturally, as older car would be more prone to problems then a new one.

I recall my parents driving on both 17 and Route 1 from PA to FL in the 40's, but no details.

Good luck with the book.

John

Guest DaveCorbin

Dear Jenni: