Sign in to follow this  

Oldest cars on the road

I am trying to locate the oldest cars on the road for a History Channel documentary. Is there anyone who's vehicle holds the title of oldest running car or any superlative like that? I am a rookie in the antique car world, so any assistance is appreciated.

What do you mean by oldest cars on the road?<P>I will make the assumption that you are talking about cars that are still "stock" and have not been "updated" with more modern engines and chassis components.<P>I will also make the assumption that you are interested in North America. Things are probably different elsewhere.<P>Are you talking about:<P>1) The oldest cars that are legally registered and could conceivably be driven on the road?<P>2) The oldest cars that are actually driven occasionally, probably on club tours?<P>3) Or the oldest cars that are in "everyday service" and used for regular transportation?<P>I would not be surprised to find a few 1890s cars in the first group. I know of a number of cars in the 1900 to 1916 age range in the second group. And I would hazzard a guess that there are some 1920's or 1930's cars in the third group.