Help getting started???

Looking for any advice/help/direction on getting started. Planning on getting a pre-war Chevy to restore very soon. When I got home from Iraq a couple years ago, I promised myself I would start doing all the things I've always dreamed of doing, all the things I've told my kids I would do with them, etc. etc. And here 2yrs later none of it has happened. So I'm finally at that point, screw it it's GOING to happen one way or the other! I'm going to get something to start working on with my kids!

I have no auto background. Have always loved cars, hot rods, Chevy's, etc., can pick things up pretty fast, and am pretty mechanically inclined. But like I said no formal training, haven't done any serious auto work. Don't really have crap for tools at this point, just basic wrench/socket sets., have an AC Stick Welder and that's it. Money of course is tight, want to keep costs down as much as possible, but realize I'm probably going to have to spend a pretty penny getting tools, a lift, better welder, etc. And then what I'll be spending on parts, restoration, etc.

With a little idea of where I'm coming from, I'm looking for any advice/suggestions, etc. on how to get started, what vehicle to get, etc.

I'm looking for a pre-war Chevy about 1937-1942. I love the 4dr Special Deluxe(???) w/the suicide doors. So would love to find something like that, 4dr., can fit at least a family of 6, love the suicide doors, easy to hot rod..Looking for advice for somebody that's basically starting from the ground up, no experience, getting tools, etc. as I go along...