1939 Buick rear axle ratios

Jon Robinson

Hello. I have a question about the rear axle ratios on a 1939 Buick Special.

I've been restoring Chryslers and DeSotos for nearly 25 years, and I drive my 1950 DeSoto Custom club coupe about 10,000 miles a year, so I'm a real believer.

I'm not exclusive, though, and I have a great deal of affection for straight-eight Buicks, and I've enjoyed every one of them I've driven. I've got my eye on a 1939 Buick Special sedan, and I know that rear axle ratio has a greater effect on the way a car drives than which engine it has, in some cases.

Please tell me the rear axle ratio on the 1939 Special. Being that it's a comaparively light car, I'm hoping it's down in the 3s -- like 3.90 or so. If so, I'll keep the speed down around 55 MPH, and it'll be fine, I'm sure. If it's something like 4.11 or 4.30, I'd be concerned. We had a lot of good cars before 1955 or so, but the roads were terrible, and some really good old cars are hamstrung by low-geared rear ends.

Part Two of this question is what later Buick rear end could be harmlessly installed without ruining the originality of the car. For example, guys with early-1950s standard-shift Chevrolets often install a rear end from a Powerglide car of the same era to lower the RPM about 20%. On my Chrysler products, it's really easy to change just the differential so you wind up with the same rear end in the car with only a different number of teeth on the gears. My DeSoto went from being a 55-MPH car to being a 65-MPH car when I installed a 1957 Dodge rear end that took the ratio down from 3.90 to 3.36. People are amazed at how fast this supposedly slow Fluid Drive DeSoto is, and I have witnesses to my 20-23 MPG under good circumstances, mostly meaning no hard head-winds.