248 cu in oil dip stick markings

Guest 1937RHDNZ

Guest 1937RHDNZ

Hi all, I am in New Zealand and have recently aquired a 1937 Special Series 47, this is a right hand drive model, which possibly was assembled here in New Zealand. I have quite a few questions but would just like to ask a simple question first. My engine oil dipstick has the 'stop' piece broken off, and therefore slides right into the block, giving a meaningless reading. could somebody please tell me the distance from the FULL mark to the 'stop' on the dipstick, so I can weld on a new piece, Thanks

Guest DaveCorbin

Dear 1937RHDNZ:

First of all, welcome aboard!! I have been researching frame and engine numbers on Buicks for several years and would appreciate it if you could send me the engine number and the frame number. The frame number is on a small oblong tag usually affixed on top of the frame rail just behind the battery. (It's difficult to see, you'll need a flashlight.) The engine number is stamped into the right side rear of the engine on a US LHD engine, but both numbers might be somewhere else on a RHD car. Any other numbers from a Holden (Australia), Lendrum-Hartman (Great Britian) or McLaughlin (Canada) tag would be useful and appreciated. I would expect numbers in the range of 2,999,947 to 3,219,848 for the frame and 3,166,225 to 3,396,937 on the engine. Tell us USA guys more about your car so we can help!!

Regards, Dave Corbin

Guest 1937RHDNZ

Thanks for that, such a quick response. I can work with metric or imperial as New Zealand only went metric in 1967 and my schooling was prior to that!

Guest 1937RHDNZ

Thanks Dave for your interest, more than happy to help as much as I can. I have registration papers only back to 1965. The car was restored in 1989, I have only had the car a few months, and my wife & I just love it. I bought a Buick because there are so many late 30's Fords & Chevs here, I just wanted something better and not so common.