New to site too-inline 8 ?'s

I'm new to this sight and already know I'll be a "regular". I just bought a 37 special model 41, haven't even got'n it home yet. (the cars in Phoenix, I'm in Iowa). Quite sure its going to end up modified but am taking my time to think out how I'm going to build it. Has the original 248 ci inline. I understand there were 4 different displacements for this engine. Are they all the same length? Mount the same? Considering using an old long 8 with a modern automatic. The original 248 sounds a little small for modern speeds, what you think. Maybe a 320? How much can these blocks be bored? Would really like to find a two carb manifold, are they hard to find? I'm sure some of you guys really know your Buick stuff, what's your opinion?

theres only 2 versions of the straight 8 engines: 248 cid 107 hp, (dont know torque) and 320 cid, 141 hp, 269 lb ft of torque (well those are for the '38, i know its specs, but im not sure about '37. id guess the numbers are real close though.) i would assume the engine is overall bigger and longer with a bigger CID. im sure there are people here who could tell you what mods could be done as far as boring it out, new carb like u said, etc BUT they might not be to keen...this forum is full of people who are rather against the people who customize and trick out and mod the old classics. but youll still get good advice, just dont totally ruin the car. myself i think it would be a good idea to get some more power out of these engines. keep the engine just hop it up a bit to get the car moving well along with normal traffic. though the 320 cid probably have gobs of torque, i dunno about the 248. ill find out soon once i get my '38 model 41 n the road (read here: http://www.aaca.org/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=285904&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=1 )