Misc. Q's on my '51 Super

Puka

Hello: I've got a few questions, most of them trivial, but I am still learning. So here goes:<P>1. I had the engine rebuilt (263 straight-8). I had them make it so I didn't need to put leaded gasoline additive in with the fuel anymore. I have been using 91 octane gas. Can I go down to 87 or 89 should I keep using the relatively expensive stuff?<P>2. Does anyone make a solid-state voltage regulator? If so, then I could avoid having to occasionally tweak the settings.<P>3. Does it matter that I am using a positive battery cable that is the gauge for a 12v system? Classic Buicks in Southern Calif. sent me the wrong cable and I didn't realize it until I put in on about 6 months later.<P>4. My water temp guage only once has went above the dot next to "C". Now the rebuilt engine only has 2,000 mi. on it and I've had everything rebuilt and replaced hoses, cored the radiator, etc. Is this normal? I am doing freeway and surface street driving. Usually no more than 100 miles at a time.<P>5. Finally, I am looking for some parts and stuff and hope someone could suggest good places to find them.<P>a. Some sort of long brush so that I can get into hard-to-reach places in the engine to wipe away oil. (When I put the engine back in, I had to replace a gasket that I used to put the valve cover on. Plus I had an exhaust leak. So I want to clean up the engine to make sure there aren't any other leaks. I keep looking for this detailing tool at Pep Boys and other auto parts stores but can't find them.<P>b. Looking for replacement antenna. The telescoping part and the rubber seal/gasket thing. <P>c. A tail harness for the 51 Buick super sedan. Model #52. I don't want to have to take mine out to send in and I can't find a place that's done one before.<P>d. OEM window handles. The 2 front door handles have the little rotating knobs come off. There looks like there was a piece of copper that fit in but can't find out how to repair them. Maybe it's easier to