Sign in to follow this  
akrussell

Brake maintenance

I don't want to resurrect the great brake fluid debate here but I will ask the following anyway. I recently got my Franklin Olympic out of museum storage where it has sat for the past several years. It has extremely low miles for a 24 year old restoration and I've owned it for nine years. It has silicone fluid in the brake system. In driving it both before and after storage, I noticed that the brakes squeal and most notably the passenger rear wheel is covered with black dust from the brakes. I also noticed that once the brakes are applied, the pedal tends to stiffen up and stay high as if the brake cylinder is locked into extended position. I pulled off the rear wheel and noticed that the forward shoe is almost completely worn off while the rear shoe seems normal. I have a set of wheel and master cylinders that have been completely rebuilt and ready to go. However, the rebuilder recommends that silicone fluid should not be used as it tends to swell the rubber parts and potentially locking the brakes, etc. Also, I've replaced the brake light switch on the master cylinder several times over the years and occasionally need to add fluid (I believe some of the wheel cylinders leak). I don't have an opinion on which fluid is best but the commonly mentioned problems about the use of silicone fluid appear to occurring on my car. Any recommendations or similar experiences? If I decide to replace the wheel cylinders and go to DOT3, how does one flush the silicone out of the lines?

Thanks,

Dan

Dan:

I too don't want to start another fistfight over the topic...

I will simply relate my experience with DOT-5...

I used it in the full-system rebuild of my 1941 De Soto about six years ago.

Aside from having a nasty time bleeding the system (long story), it has worked well for the last six years /15,000 miles.

I have gone through three NEW stoplight switches: all of them have failed after about three months.