1929 Dodge Senior Six Restoration

Hello all, I am from northeast Louisiana and am in the process of purchasing this 1929 Dodge Senior Six Sedan. I don't know much about the history of this specific vehicle, but it appears to be restorable. I have already learned a lot from reading other forums on this site. I wanted to start this forum so that perhaps others with helpful information would become aware of it and potentially answer the questions that I inevitably will have during this project. My goal here is to keep the car as original as possible, while also putting it in as good working condition as practically possible. I am a Mechanical Engineer and Gunsmith and I have a profound love for old things and old-time craftsmanship, but I am not an auto mechanic and this will be my first venture into this arena. Once I bring the car to my place I'm sure I will begin asking questions and providing as much information as possible. 

Front Right.jpeg

Front Left.jpeg

Dash.jpeg

Interior.jpeg

Engine.jpeg

• Like 3

Good luck!  Looks like a worthwhile project.  When was it last on the road?  Tires don't look too old.  What's the date of the inspection sticker? 

3 hours ago, 63RedBrier said:

Good luck!  Looks like a worthwhile project.  When was it last on the road?  Tires don't look too old.  What's the date of the inspection sticker? 

If I remember correctly from my first viewing of the car, the Texas inspection sticker is from the 1980's. The story I got from the seller was that her grandfather was a tank mechanic in WWII and after that was a career auto mechanic (the remnants of his workshop seem to confirm that). He purchased the car from somewhere in the Dallas area when he was 85, but sadly he was already in poor health and was not able to progress very far with it. The man has since passed quite some time ago, but the family is now selling the property and the new owners did not want the car so the family is selling it also.