1925 Packard wiring diagram …… What does this extra plug do!

rodneybeauchamp

Hi, was looking at this wiring diagram and noticed an extra plug. It’s H2 Puelizer Spark Plug.

I gather it might be a magneto type ignition but not sure of which I have little (read zero) knowledge about.

Can I asked the informed to shed light onto what it does?

No, I don’t have a Packard but always interested in old stuff, especially the bits where the smoke comes out unexpectedly!

Thanks

Rodney 😀😀😀😀😀😀

E5284EFF-78FF-4DAC-B97B-1AE5D64A5A3F.jpeg

I think that is a Fuelizer Spark Plug, part of a device to vaporize the fuel for easier cold starting and idling.

Fuelizer, Packard's Motor Miracle, Innovation in Gasoline Engineering

NO WRITER ATTRIBUTED
March 13, 1920

Another contribution in the field of automotive engineering has been made by the Packard Automobile Company. Its engineers have perfected a device which is at once simple and solves the problem of heating the present low-grade of gasolene to insure complete combustion. The Fuelizer, as it is called, consists of a chamber surrounding the intake manifold, in which a small amount of gasolene is exploded and then drawn into the manifold thus raising the temperature of the gas to a high degree. The gasoline is drawn into the Fuelizer chamber by a small pipe leading from below the butterfly valve, is circulated at high velocity in the chamber by the explosion caused by the spark plug in the chamber, and then goes through a small opening into the manifold where the usual wet and cold mixture from the carburetor is converted into superheated gas which explodes entirely upon ignition.