Can Anyone Identify This Part?

karguy12

I'm looking to identify this specific part circled in red. It is currently on a 1931 Pierce Arrow engine. I am wanting yo know if anyone has seen a similar part or knows the original application for this part. I have not seen this on any other Pierce Arrow engine I have seen in person or photos. 

box.JPG

IMG_8823.jpg

IMG_8824.jpg

Edited by karguy12 (see edit history)

I am going to offer a wild guess. 

Looks like it has a shaft coming off the water pump,  there is a lever mechanism above that moves something. 

You also said you have not seen it on other PA engines.   

Seem like there were a number of fire engines make with PA engines.... this might be the drive mechanism for 

the siren. 

• Like 1

Karguy12, may I ask what university is going to help and where you are located. I’m not a mechanical genius but have rebuilt a number of engines and would love to help with this project if you need and want it. 
dave s 

edit ps - I’m old and slow but like that goofy bunny I just keep going. 

Edited by SC38dls (see edit history)

43 minutes ago, SC38dls said:

Karguy12, may I ask what university is going to help and where you are located. I’m not a mechanical genius but have rebuilt a number of engines and would love to help with this project if you need and want it. 
dave s 

edit ps - I’m old and slow but like that goofy bunny I just keep going. 

Right now I have only a tentative offer to assist in the aerodynamic study. It is based on a students doctorate thesis on the history of aerodynamics in automotive design. I would not want to jinx it, as he and I are so far excited about the project. 

I would love help, technical assistance, advice, parts scavenging or anything that gets me closer to seeing this thing back on the road. 

• Like 1

57 minutes ago, Barney Eaton said:

I am going to offer a wild guess. 

Looks like it has a shaft coming off the water pump,  there is a lever mechanism above that moves something.