modern tools - Dose anybody else think it's not quite to use a gear wrench when working on a vintage vehicle?

Buick35

Well, if it has metric hardware it is OK.;)

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

All my tools are period correct for whatever car i,m working on as is my dress. Can,t be too correct in a restoration you know.

As an aside: i,ve been trying to get gear wrench to replace a defective box wrench for the better part of a year now. Nothing but excuses, covid, supply chain, blah blah blah. Buy some other brand..... bob

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I am an avid woodworker, and build period furniture reproductions. There is a certain segment in that group of people that insist on using hand tools only. I will admit that for some purposes a hand tool is much easier, quieter, relaxing, lets you feel the work, etc. But I would bet a dollar that if an electric tablesaw was available to the Townsends they would have used it!

This thread has similarities. 

• Like 11
  • Thanks 1

I use whatever will do the job (but avoid crescent and pipe wrenches) 

Still have a few of my dad's tools (born in 1903)  and my Craftsman tools purchased in 1959. 

Don't knock modern tools that save your knuckles and speed up the job. 

Most recent purchase... battery powered impact wrench. 

• Like 11

2 hours ago, TAKerry said:

I am an avid woodworker, and build period furniture reproductions. There is a certain segment in that group of people that insist on using hand tools only. I will admit that for some purposes a hand tool is much easier, quieter, relaxing, lets you feel the work, etc. But I would bet a dollar that if an electric tablesaw was available to the Townsends they would have used it!

Roger that.

Here's a few pix of a Gerstner type tool box I recently made to hold my more precision auto and machine shop tools. Made from a curly cherry wind fall I had sawed up 20 years ago. Secondary woods are maple and poplar. Also old wind falls.