Rear Strut Question - Buick Reatta

Would it be possible to just remove the shock and put a new shock in and move the mounting bracket things onto the new strut?

Or if anyone has a recommendation for a rear strut that would fit my 1989 Buick Reatta that’d be appreciated 

There is alot of us looking for solutions, there is alot of informationon previously posts to lack of parts... Don't get discouraged!!

Not familiar with the details, but I have a decent machine shop (don’t weld) and would offer help from that side when someone figures out what’s required. 
karl

• Like 2

I thought a strut was a shock inside of a spring. As a Mazda technician I replaced “the shock” part of a strut many times.  Reinstalled the assembly then usually did a 4 wheel alignment.   Am I missing something?   

1 hour ago, B Jake Moran said:

I thought a strut was a shock inside of a spring. As a Mazda technician I replaced “the shock” part of a strut many times.  Reinstalled the assembly then usually did a 4 wheel alignment.   Am I missing something?   

reattas have a rear transverse 'leaf' spring.

The strut on the rear functions as a shock, but it also keeps the rear wheel/tire in vertical alignment (camber) in much the same way the front strut does. For that reason it's built a lot more heavy duty than most shocks are.

• Thanks 1

Has anyone contacted Monroe with all of the cars (mostly high end GM E and V bodies)) that used either the -66 or the -01 (same design with air lift) ?

On 7/2/2022 at 3:47 PM, padgett said:

Is someone looking at replacing the cartridge. Does take some machining.

This is similar to what I was talking abt. Idk if it’s possible but from what Ronnie said abt it needing to be heavy duty would it be possible we use truck cartridges and move the mount pieces onto that? (I know very little abt this stuff lol)

2 hours ago, padgett said: