Let's be realistic... Condition vs. Price

63RedBrier

So, I have been playing with old cars (mostly Corvairs) for 40 years!  I guess most of you here can say the same or more!  I'm in the market for a mid-20's thru mid-30's classic or Full Classic car.   Anyway, last Friday I had the opportunity to look at two Full Classics on the same day, one PURPLE, one bright YELLOW, both unfortunately, are being stored outside under those dreaded tarps. 

The PURPLE sedan was recently pushed outside at the seller's wife's request.  Only the back half is covered by a tarp.  The seller showed me the title and he has owned it since 2010 but has never driven it!  Fuel line is disconnected and he says it needs a fuel pump.  The spark/throttle levers that should be in the middle of the steering wheel are gone!  The top is new(er) and appears to be done well and in the correct pattern; however, none of the trim around the edges was reinstalled.  It desperately needs new tires.  The running boards were recreated in solid wood.  They were done fairly well, but no appropriate for the car.  A friend mentioned to the seller he thought the car was worth $7,500.  While I was there the seller said he was asking $10K.  Did I mention it was PURPLE?  He said he told the painter he wanted it maroon, the painter showed him a sample that the seller agreed to, and it is now PURPLE!  So, body work and repaint - $10k?  Six new tires - $2k.  Probably another $5-10k to get it running, etc.  Value then?