1956 Project

KingKoser6405

Hey Everyone,

I just picked up this ‘56 from a guy who was going to make it into a gasser but ended up being too nice to cut up. I got it for a steal but don’t know much about it other than it being a ‘56, factory Raven Black, with a three speed manual and OverDrive.

All I was given by the owner was the window sticker. To be honest, I don’t come from Thunderbirds. My background is in Mustangs and Corvettes, and when we wanted to get documentation, we looked up the NCRS or got Marti Reports. My question is is there any place, tri-five Thunderbird specific, where you can get documentation for these cars? I am excited to start on this car and learn about these cars.

Thankfully the car is super complete…. It’s just in pieces. 

7ED18BDE-FDE8-4228-9559-F7FFD1164172.jpeg

FDC32D8F-F1B0-41E9-A621-2BE7459C449F.jpeg

E4AFA255-C9FB-4748-8046-853ED59F9056.jpeg

154B1FED-6F20-4297-877A-D5ADAF634BCD.jpeg

434B7EE9-5A55-4880-9636-B906171A22FC.jpeg

4C783185-8A2B-469F-BD64-C68C3B8FE49F.png

9A1ECD18-9ADE-4627-AFE9-84AF5D360FBD.jpeg

Hi King,

I agree with Neil, joining CTCT (www.ctci.org) is the way to go. At a minimum you need the 1956 Ford Shop Manual and an Owner's Handbook if one didn't come with the car. The "window sticker" is actually the factory invoice that was sent to the dealer. The window sticker as we know it came into being in the 1960's.

As for your car, the body looks in pretty good shape as long as it isn't rusted out underneath. I can tell the following:

• Your car is missing the continental kit. Your rear bumper is from a 1955 Thunderbird.
  • The front bumper is missing the bumper guards that a 1956 should have.
  • The carburetor on the engine is for a 1957 T-Bird (it looks like a Holley 4160). It should be a Holley 4000 "teapot"
  • The car should have a soft top. I can't tell whether yours does or not. 

Your car looks pretty straight and I am glad that you are not going to make it into a gasser.