Summer trip to Hickory Corners

a griffin

My wife and I are planning on flying up to Michigan this summer for a marque anniversary at Hickory Corners. As this is my first time in this part of the country, I would like some suggestions on dos/donts and must sees.

When I mentioned the plan to my wife, she immediately said she wanted to go to Detroit for the Piquette museum. I'm lucky in that she has the same interests as me.

Here's my questions....

Should we fly into Detroit and use that as a start/stop point for this trip, or would you recommend another area to start off from? Kalamazoo or Lansing? Maybe Fort Wayne?

Any points of interest you would definitely recommend?

Anything to definitely stay away from?

depends on your interests, but just to throw some stuff out there:

Detroit airport is by far the largest for choices.  Grand Rapids, Flint, Lansing sometimes have deals. 

In the summer, the lakeshores would be popular visits.  I think the Lake Michigan shore is nicer than Lake Huron.  Sleeping Bear Dunes is worth a trip.

Detroit Institute of the Arts.  Motown Records.  Meadowbrook.

The Gilmore  might be combined with the Studebaker Museum in South Bend, IN or the ACD Museum in Auburn, IN.

The Upper Peninsula is a lot farther away than you probably think - I think it's outside the scope.

• Like 2

Beyond the Gilmore,

If you have the time, drive to Mackinac City via Traverse City and Petoskey, and drive the "Tunnel of Trees along the Lake Michigan shoreline - and take the boat to Mackinac Island for a nice day trip. Drive the "Big Mac" Mackinac Bridge and go to the UP and Sault Ste. Marie, a longer drive, but worth it in my opinion.

If heading south toward Ft Wayne, then visit the Auburn, Indiana museums

Edited by Marty Roth (see edit history)
  • Like 4

57 minutes ago, edinmass said:

Sthals Auto Museum needs to be add to your list.