New "Long life antifreeze" OK for a '63 Riv?

Jim Cannon

I have come across discussions in other old car forums that the new "long life" antifreeze (claims to be good for 10 years) is not safe for our old car cooling systems, that it will eat up soldered joints, gaskets and other bad things. They say we need to stick to the old stuff that has a 2 year to 3 year life.

Any truth in this? What do you all know?

It appears to have something to do with OAT versus IAT additive in the ethylene glycol solution (and there is also a hybrid HOAT).

I suspect that it is all smoke because why would Prestone put out a product that will cause problems in an older car?

I contacted the Prestone Consumer hotline twice now to try to understand the situation and they don't return my call.

Thanks!

Well Jim, I had no idea regular Prestone on lasted 2-3 years. I've been screwing up for 40 years. I had same coolant in tractors and off highway equipment now for 20 plus years and have had same coolant in past collector cars for 10-15 years. Never any cooling system issues due to old antifreeze.

Surely regular Prestone will easily last 10 years the way we use and store our cars. When the information is murky clear, I always tend to stick to what has worked for decades.....but that comes from someone who still runs points, conventional oil and don't use Stabil so take it for what its worth! I'm sure someone else will have a more scientific reply.

Edited by JZRIV (see edit history)
  • Like 1

I have been using various "new type" (DexCool, etc.) formulas since the 1980s. I change it every 2 years. No trouble here. I don't believe any of it is good for 10 years or even five. The old conventional formulas were supposed to last 2 years.