1941 Ford Woodie Memorial

41 woody

Several months ago, a nurse friend suggested restoring an old woodie wagon.  Originally, we looked at a locally owned Plymouth needing extensive work.  Unfortunately, it sold before we could make a purchase.  As fate would have it a 1941 Ford Super Deluxe became available.   These 2 RN's will be flying out to look at the car in order to purchase it next week.

All this being said, this project is a huge undertaking.  I used to be a high end finish carpenter for almost 20 years.  I have a nice bandsaw, 13 inch dewalt thickness planer, 8 inch jointer, several routers with tables, table saw, drill press, different sanders, a dust collection system, numerous hand tools, and a 4 x 6 MFT/T-Track assembly table (the wood shop is ready and waiting).  I am not intimidated by complex wood fabrication.   I have a mill set up to provide appropriate quartersawn wood.  I have also established contact with a CNC shop to make a couple of the complex door pieces versus buying a router duplicator.  The 41 has good wood.  However, I want to produce 2 additional sets of wood, 1 for my car, and another for a restorer needing a set.

An empty 2 1/2 car garage will be the new home of this car during the restoration process.   As a former combat US Marine and VA nurse it would be amazing to dedicate a 1941 Ford Woodie Wagon to Hershel "Woody" Williams and Gold Star Families who have sacrificed so much for this country.  

At this point, being new to car restoration, I need some guidance.   Thanks in advance, to this community for any and all advice.

Edited by 41 woody (see edit history)

• 41 woody changed the title to 1941 Ford Woodie Memorial