When did personalized license plates begin?

Billy Kingsley

I have a question for the more knowledgeable folks here. (More knowledgeable than I, I mean). When did the personalized license plates begin to be seen? 

As you may know I'm a model car builder, and one of my "pet peeves" in the hobby is when the model companies put year of manufacture license plates with some contrived thing on it, for example 1926 plates that say "26T". 

To me that's unrealistic and I refuse to use them, in fact I'd rather not put a plate on at all than use one of them.

Am I wrong or did plates like this actually exist back when the cars were new? Thanks.

8 minutes ago, Billy Kingsley said:

I have a question for the more knowledgeable folks here. (More knowledgeable than I, I mean). When did the personalized license plates begin to be seen? 

As you may know I'm a model car builder, and one of my "pet peeves" in the hobby is when the model companies put year of manufacture license plates with some contrived thing on it, for example 1926 plates that say "26T". 

To me that's unrealistic and I refuse to use them, in fact I'd rather not put a plate on at all than use one of them.

Am I wrong or did plates like this actually exist back when the cars were new? Thanks.

Mr Google is your friend.  According to several of his sources, Pennsylvania offered plates with the car owner's initials as early as 1931.  I guess that qualifies as "personalized."

8 minutes ago, Studemax said:

No, he is not and never was.

That's why I use DuckDuckGo.

Meh.  I couldn't care less if Google tracks my searches.  But if that worries you, have at it with Donald.  The point is the answer to the OP question can be found with an internet search using whatever engine.

• Like 2

I clearly remember a neighbor had his name on the plate of his new his 57 retractable.