Radiator Compatibility for 1948 Roadmaster

Sir Gonzo

I have a 1948 Roadmaster (series 70) with a Dynaflow automatic transmission. Does anyone know what years use the same radiator as the '48? Are there other GM makes from the same year (or thereabouts) that are the same as the Buick? Is there a source where I could buy a new '48 radiator?

Thanks!

p.s. The transmission cooler on this year is separate from the main radiator.

I could certainly be wrong but I thought the 42 to 48 radiator for the 60, 70 and 90 series was the same.

Anyway, if you have a current 48 radiator, are you able to have a repairer break it down and repair it? 

If you don't have a current 48 radiator, are you looking for something period correct or just a replacement?

There will likely be aftermarket producers who build something vintage looking that fits or there will likely be those aluminium builds you could use.

• Thanks 1

3 hours ago, 56 Buick said:

I could certainly be wrong but I thought the 42 to 48 radiator for the 60, 70 and 90 series was the same.

Anyway, if you have a current 48 radiator, are you able to have a repairer break it down and repair it? 

If you don't have a current 48 radiator, are you looking for something period correct or just a replacement?

There will likely be aftermarket producers who build something vintage looking that fits or there will likely be those aluminium builds you could use.

It's true a 42 to 48 radiator for 60,70 & 90 series is the same. It's the With Dynaflow part that makes it a one year only item according to the Interchange.

• Like 1

@56 Buick My Buick runs hot and overheats here in Arizona when it gets over 90 degrees F. Among other potential causes for the overheating, I'm exploring two options when it comes to the radiator.