Looking for advise on Pierce-Arrows

I am new to the Pierce Arrow Society and I am looking for opinions on the cars with the best driveability. 

I enjoy driving the cars more than looking at them in my garage. I own two 1941 Buick's. A four door touring sedan and a phaeton . I am on the road with one or two of them every weekend and really enjoy the drive quality. I became interested in Pierce Arrows when I was a kid. I thought then and still do today the 1933 Silver Arrow was the coolest car ever made. I have been lucky to at least see one at Hershey a couple of years ago. I also discovered that my wife’s great grandfather owned at least a dozen Pierce Arrow’s when they were new. I have never driven a Pierce-Arrow, but I like 1932, 1933 and 1936 the best.  I am looking for a driver over all else.  Also is a twelve that much better than the eight? Your opinions and recommendations would be appreciated.Thanks.

• Like 1

Welcome to the PAS!  As you can see from my fleet in my signature block, I like 'em all--and I DRIVE them (those which are running, of course).  First, I generally prefer an 8 to a 12 for the years a 12 was offered (1932-38), but OTOH I've never owned a 12.  For an open or rare (e.g., production Silver Arrow) body style, there's about a $40k premium for a 12 over an 8, substantially less for a sedan, so because I am far from rich--other than in my friends--the 12 is not worth the premium.  Please also post your question on the PAS message board.

Some considerations:

* 1936-38 cars have a 30% factory OD with a 4.58 diff for about a 3.22 final drive ratio in OD, giving about 2700 rpm at 70 mph.  These cars have excellent vacuum-boosted mechanical brakes (P-A never went to hydraulics) with 342 sq in of swept area, about 50% more than a Cadillac V-16.  But the 1936-38 cars are also the heaviest--at least 6,000 lbs road weight.