Looking to take the leap to a pre 1920's Buick

Brooklyn Beer

Never owned a car older then 1931, presently a 1931 Franklin and a 1931 Plymouth, and have caught the bug to own a car that is at least 100 years old. Looking at Buicks from the 1916-1919 time frame.  I find the motors in these cars most interesting. The exposed valve train in particular. In peoples opinion (That I hope doesn't start a war), can a couple much more experienced and educated owners of these years Buicks give a guy some helpful advice on what to look for and what to avoid in these years? What has my keen interest is a 1918 Buick 45.

Thanks in advance. Not new to Buicks as I have a 49 Roadmaster, just new to anything pre 1930

5 hours ago, Morgan Wright said:

Can't go wrong with a 1918 model 45. Great model!

The exposed valve train I find interesting and curious to the maintenance needed. I know on my 31 Franklin you have to manually oil the felt pads in the valve cages around every 300 miles to be safe. Is there something like this that needs done here ? 

The best Buick engine back then was the 242. Parts are easy to find and it's a reliable work horse of 60 HP, the highest Buick ever produced at the time, and they used the engine for many years. But it went to covered valve train in 1919 so for exposed valve train you pretty much have no choice but the 1918 or the mysterious and controversial, uh, .......not going to say it.

Year (hyzercreek.com)

There

• Like 1