Looking For a Good Electrical Component Rebuilding Shop in California?

Just found out that the trusted shop I've been using here in Sacramento, CA for over thirty years is out of the component rebuilding/repair business.  I have an alternator for a '91 Nissan 300ZX that needs to be gone through and electrically checked, bearings replaced, etc.  Would prefer a shop in Northern California so I can drop off/pick up the alternator, but could certainly ship it to a good shop.

Quality work is the highest priority, as the alternator is just buried on this car.  It's uncovered now due to radiator and timing belt replacement work. So, definitely not a job that I'd want to do again anytime soon.

Unfortunately, not really available off the shelf. The 300ZX alternator is unique to that Nissan model, and not even for all years of that particular body style. I had to send out the power steering pump for rebuilding as some part stores only offer the rebuilding service, nothing off the shelf. Part of the "fun" of working on a low-production car.

Try Ed at E D & D Electric on Howe Road in Martinez, 925.372.6645.  Ed is a one-man band and has been in the business for 55 years, and has huge stocks of repair parts for pre-war cars.  I'm pretty sure he does newer ones like your 300ZX as well.  He has done two 1934 Pierce starters for me quite inexpensively, and I last week I brought him for units for cars from 1922-30.  He does all the starter and generator work for the Academy of Art University collection.  Call or Google him for hours this time of year--sometimes 3 days a week, sometimes four.

Thanks, I did give Ed a call last week. But today when I stopped by, there was a sign posted on his door that says "Closed due to illness until further notice." Hopefully nothing serious, I'll try giving him a call in week or two.

33 minutes ago, Writer Jon said: