Help... 1978–79 Buicks for the Iranian market?

Posted (edited)

Hi everyone,

I have a very specific and obscure query that I'm sure has never been asked here before. I'm wondering if anyone might have any information, data, or literature pertaining to Buicks made for the Iran market in 1978 or 1979, just prior to the Iranian Revolution. It might not have to be for Iran specifically, but maybe at least for the Middle Eastern market.

The reason I'm asking is because my grandfather, who was then the President of the National Iranian Oil Company, special-ordered a Buick Electra Park Avenue Sedan new in 1978 as his company car. Whether it was a '78 or '79 isn't clear... I personally know all about the cosmetic differences between those years, but my mom's memories from 42 years ago aren't quite as vivid as they used to be. I've showed her photos of both '78 and '79 examples, and I've gotten conflicting answers as to which one it was. She has even said that the shades of green offered (at least for the US market) aren't quite right. My grandfather passed away two years before I was born, so unfortunately I can't ask him.

I'm just trying to find out whether the options, colors, trims, or anything else were different for the Iranian market. The car was metallic green, with green velour upholstery and a green vinyl top. It was returned to the company upon his resignation in 1979, and it was never seen again.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated. I have already emailed the GM Heritage Center, but I haven't heard back.

Thanks!

Edited by Shervinator
Grammar (see edit history)