chrome plating

broker-len

I tried it many many years ago on some rims that were sandblasted. Some of the chrome was left, but not shiny. I primer and painted.  After a couple of years, the that was over the chrome started to flake off. I stripped and sanded the chrome areas till I was blue in the face. Primed and painted. The following year it started again. Mike

• Like 1

A couple of the bumper guards on my 52 had some surface rust and were dingy to say the least. Cost of rechromming being what it is I decided to clean them well, scuff them, and paint them with chrome from a spray bomb. Although you definitely can tell it does not look bad and as a driver, I am happy with it. And do far no problem with adhesion. 

As Mike said, the paint will come off eventually. My hubcaps have black painted details and it was a PITA getting the paint to stay on when pulling the masking tape. My horn trumpets also have the tube part of the body painted fender color, in my case black, which is still holding up well. I scuffed the chrome the best I could and wiped them down with Prepsol to remove any oils or solvents to help the paint stick. I found using etch primer first helps the color coat adhesion.

Try nail polish to paint in details on hubcaps..........works great. Lasts for ten years.

• Like 1

15 hours ago, edinmass said:

Try nail polish to paint in details on hubcaps..........works great. Lasts for ten years.

That’s interesting, I’ll have to try some. I’ll have to go to a Goth store to get some black nail polish! 😄