Negative or positive grounding on a 1933?

HrodgarSWE

Hey friends and more knowledgeable people! 

Short intro; I inherited my fathers Buick 1933, S50-57 some years ago and he was the petrolhead, I'm a carpenter. So, I'm handy with stuff and not afraid to try stuff, but I know nothing about engines other than the general basic stuff of course. 

However, I am now in the process of upgrading the electrical stuff, adding a breakerless system (enter gasp of horror from puritans, sorry gang) and to buy the correct stuff it's needed to know if my car is positive grounded or negative grounded. 
I've tried to search the internet for info and _most_ info points at negative grounded.. yet I don't want the "I guess". I want the "I know for a fact..." ^_^ 

DSC_0343_1.JPG

• Like 1

It should be negative ground.  Look at your battery.  The negative terminal should  woven, flat non insulated that goes to a bolt on the transmission.  The positive cable will be insulated and go to the starter motor.  A volt meter on the battery terminals will confirm the polarity.

Buicks were negative ground from at least 1916 on.  That is my earliest knowledge on Buick electrical systems.  Others may confirm earlier dates.

Bob Engle

• Like 2

Number one, you've got to get a shop manual. Asking questions here is great and you will find many smart and patient people. Also start using the "search"  feature at the top right of the screen to look up specific questions. It takes a little practice wording your search to get the most helpful answers. Welcome. Good luck.

• Like 2

On 4/9/2021 at 2:05 PM, Robert Engle said:

Buicks were negative ground from at least 1916 on.  That is my earliest knowledge on Buick electrical systems.  Others may confirm earlier dates.

From 1914 on according to Year (hyzercreek.com)

Edited by Morgan Wright (see edit history)
  • Like 1

On 4/9/2021 at 1:18 PM, HrodgarSWE said: